WPT Volunteer of the Year

2015 Volunteer of the Year

Brian RuppertEach year, Wisconsin Public Television recognizes one of our many dedicated volunteers with the V. Thomas Metcalfe Volunteer of the Year Award. Named for Tom Metcalfe, a friend of Wisconsin Public Television and dedicated community leader, this award is presented to a volunteer who demonstrates outstanding leadership and commitment to WPT. Our 2015 recipient is Brian Ruppert.

Brian began volunteering with WPT in 2009 by attending Auction with his workplace, TDS. In 2010 Brian returned to Auction with TDS and also began volunteering for Membership Drives. By 2011 Brian was volunteering for Auction, Membership Drives and Quilt Expo, followed shortly by Garden Expo in 2012. Since 2012 Brian has been volunteering for all major WPT events. Brian has moved into a leadership role within each WPT event, becoming a truly irreplaceable volunteer. Since 2009, Brian has volunteered more than 450 hours of his time to WPT.

Brian dedicates his time to Wisconsin Public Television becuase volunteering allows him "to stay active in the community and support an organization which provides programming that he and his family enjoys." He and his wife enjoy watching America's Test Kithcen, Cook's Country and Antiques Roadshow. They are also looking forward to watching the 6th season of Downton Abbey and watching children's programming as their daughter grows up. Brian notes that he enjoys "volunteering at the various events (Membership Drives, Quilt Expo, Garden Expo and Auction) because each event has its own unique atmosphere and I get to meet a variety of interesting people. Having worked in many volunteer positions over the years, I've seen firsthand how volunteers are a vital part of WPT's fundraising and community events, and it's a great feeling to know I get to play a role in the success of those events."

Brian has truly become paramount to WPT's success. He is calm, thoughful, patient, dependable, a great leader and always ready to help out. We are beyond grateful that Brian commits so much of his time to WPT. He is truly an exceptional volunteer.

Past Recipients of Volunteer of the Year

2014 Sandy Rupnow
2013 Fran Schultz
2012 Sandra Levin
2011 Mark Schoenleber
2010 Andy Koch
2009 Bill Schloemer
2008 Stan Druckenmiller
2007 Ann Scott
2006 Alan Hackbarth
2005 LouJean Steenberg
2004 Gary Kimmerly

2003 Ingrid Lind-Jahn and Pete Jahn
2002 Janice and Michael Stone
2001 Cheryl Thompson
2000 Todd Liebergen
1999 Nancy and John O'Neill
1998 Janet Weidemann
1997 Ann Clark
1996 Shel Ellestad
1995 Kristine Wiese
1994 Sally Ann Miller

1993 John Schulist
1992 Jeannie Druckenmiller
1991 Linda Barker
1990 Rudy Fritz
1989 Grace Homb
1988 Rodney Pflaum
1987 Ann Campbell
1986 M J Combs
1985 Linda Berman
1984 Karen Godshall

Share this page